Sunday, June 23, 2013

Public Service Day June 23, 2013

By Terry Orr

The United Nations’ Public Service Day is held on June 23 each year. It recognizes that democracy and successful governance are built on the foundation of a competent civil service. The day aims to celebrate the value and virtue of service to the community.

On December 20, 2002, the United Nations General Assembly designated June 23 of each year as United Nations Public Service Day (resolution 57/277). It encouraged member states to organize special events on that day to highlight the contribution of public service in the development process.

This day was created to: celebrate the value and virtue of public service to the community; highlight the contribution of public service in the development process; recognize the work of public servants; and encourage young people to pursue careers in the public sector.
(COMMENT: While corruption, greed, personal agendas have created significant problem in America and many other countries – the goals and objectives of Public Service remain honorable and worthwhile.  I personally blame the citizens for allowing this to happen – and the only way to correct it – is by getting involved and righting the ship.)

The United Nations (UN) holds a Public Service Awards ceremony each year. It rewards the creative achievements and contributions of public service institutions worldwide. This event promotes the role, professionalism and visibility of public service.  At the same time, Africa Public Service Day is celebrated in Africa to coincide with the United Nations Public Service Day.

Many public service organizations and departments around the world celebrate this day by holding various events to recognize the valuable role that public servants play in making improvements in society. Activities include: information days featuring stalls and booths about the public service; organized lunches with guest speakers; internal awards ceremonies within public service agencies or departments; and special announcements to honor public servants.

The Awards for 2013 will be bestowed in the following five categories:

1. Preventing and Fighting Corruption in the Public Service
2. Improving the Delivery of Public Services
3. Fostering Participation in Policy-making Decisions through Innovative Mechanisms
4. Promoting Whole-of-Government Approaches in the Information Age
5. Promoting Gender Sensitive Public Service Delivery

What is your take on public service?

(Photos from Google) 

No comments:

Post a Comment